Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
sokhon

I become a Man again!

I became a Man again!

While visiting Cambodia Trust on 23 December 2003, I met Mr. Tot Vey a landmine survivor coming at the Physiotherapy department forgetting the new artificial legs.

“I am Tot Vey 39 years old from Prek Ta Meim village, Prek Sdey commune, Koh Thom district, Kandal Province. My family has 3 sons and 2 daughters. My present occupation is cultivator and fisherman.

Fifteen years ago, I was a soldier of State of Cambodia. One day in May 1988, my Commander sent me to fight with Khmer Rouge in Pailin City. We lost and returned back to Samlot District. While walking across the Kra Nhoung river bank with my friends, I suddenly stepped on a POMZ2, the smoke and mud blew up, my friends and I fell down, I felt so much painful on my both legs and later on I was faint. When I woke up, I saw some military nurses around me at Samlot Hospital; they could not treat me and sent me to Hospital in Battambang Province. There, my both legs were cut and after a week they sent me to Military Hospital in Phnom Penh.

One month later, I was well and became an amputee. This was the result of War and my feeling told me that I was not a man anymore. What will happen to my poor family as I always sit in a wheel chair?

Fortunately, in year 1993 the Cambodia Trust outreach team came in my village seeing me cooking to feed my small child, they explained me about their activity and after that picked me to the Cambodia Trust clinic. I was taken care by the doctors of Cambodia Trust with accommodation and food provided. After one month and a half, I left the clinic with two lovely prosthetic legs and elbow crutches, and some money for transportation back to my home.