Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Tint

New Boy

Hello everyone, hope you are all feeling ok. Im new to your gang and thought I would introduce myself. I am a left above knee amputee following a motorbike accident in April this year. I am coping with it quite well (although i cried like a baby for the first 2 days) and am trying not to see anything as a limitation but more of a challenge. Rode a mountain bike for the first time today, was v daunting at first but worth it. Everyone has been great throughout and my friends still take the p out of me, no sympathy there.

The forum is great by the way, i felt a little alone before i found you lot

Anyway i better get to bed as im only a young pup at ..er..29 (and 23months)

Goodnight

x :P

Hi Tint,

Welcome to the forum! Nice to meet you. :D

You say you've ridden a bike and that's around just 5 months post-amputation?? Wow! You should be proud of yourself. That's not a 'walk in the park' by anybody's standards. It's been 14 months post-amp for me and I have yet to ride a proper bike (I've been on bikes at the gym, but I know they're not the same!).

You say: "...am trying not to see anything as a limitation but more of a challenge."

That's exactly the best attitude to have Tint. It will get you far.

This forum will make you realise that you are certainly not alone. We are all/have been in the same boat. So if you've got any questions, fire away. There's usually somebody here that will know the answer for you.

If you don't have any questions, but want to find out more about the different types of prosthetics available to you, then this forum has plenty of information for you. Take a quick look in the Links Forum, where you can find the....er.....links to many useful and informative sites out there.

Anyway, hope you enjoy it here as much as I do! B)

Welcome Tint,