Heather Mills - Amputee Forum

Hi

I'm driving with my left foot. I was wondering whether u know portable accessories for driving w/ left that I can take with me to other cars (rented etc.)

Thanks,

Shahar

Shahar,

Do a search on Yahoo probably something like left foot eccelerator. What is your amputation ie: right BK, Right Ak.....

If you are a right bk I think you could drive without modifing your car. I have been driving my car for over 13 years with no adaptions and I am a RBK I also drive a stick shift and I'm looking into getting my Motor Cycle endorsement so I can ride my own Motor Cycle.. Hopefully a Harley Davidson.

Have you even tried to drive with the right foot? I would go on a country road or a not so populated area and try it out. You can do it.

Brenda

Hi h1Shahar,

I agree w/Brenda, she is always on point.

Also, I just had my car converted to a Left foot pedal. I too was driving w/my left foot, but decided to have it converted. The left foot pedal is removable and you take it out whenever someone else is driving your car. (Car wash or parking attendant) The car dealers will reimburse you for the cost of converting as well. Just call the car manufacturer for your car and ask if they reimburse for Disable conversions.

You asked if there was one that you could use in other cars-I have not heard of that kind. This system converts your car and can be removed, but only for your own car.

Do a Google search and type in Amputation Adaptive Device and many will come up, by area.

It's a little tricky, because we drive by instinct and are used to the gas pedal to the right of the brake and when you jam on your brakes, you still think right to left instead of left to right.

Hope this helps

Phyl