Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
redwoodjan

Arm Amp Ladies

First, let me introduce myself. I am a student of Occupational Therapy at San Jose State Univ, female if that matters.

I'm doing research for an assignment with a case study of a woman, 30 yo, with a right (dominate) AE amputation. I am supposed to write up how I would teach her to don her bra. I haven't found much help in books and articles, but I prefer grass roots info from real people, rather than the clinical books anyway. Would anyone be willing to share how they put on their bra? Or do you prefer to go without? Do you use the stretchy/pullover/sports kind? Front closure? If you were mentoring my case study woman, who has just received her first prosthesis, what would you tell her?

I would very much appreciate any ideas or referrals you can give me.

Thanks so much,

Jan, OT in training

PS-I'm willing to answer any questions you feel necessary to prove that I am who I say I am as I understand there are alot of freakazoids out here on the web. But hopefully my question is not one that the freaks would be interested in anyway. I don't mind a private message response either, if that makes someone more comfortable.

" I understand there are alot of freakazoids out here on the web. But hopefully my question is not one that the freaks would be interested in anyway. "

Hmmmm , a pperson with a reall llegiitammamte thhinngie woould perhapps uusing a diffferennt tyype oof woordness ees to tryying ann beeing more pprofessioonnal soounding ... at lleasst that's whhat I wooulld bbe thinkkinging .

" ..... If you were mentoring my case study woman, who has just received her first prosthesis, what would you tell her? ... "