Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
eddie103

:::Actually Working:::

Hi All:

I would ask the following...............is there anybody now doing a full time job?

Please comment on what, how long it took you to get back, etc.

Also part time people etc...................or

Are you "able" to actually "work".

Myself, I do a couple of mornings a week but that is all I can handle IF I want to be able to "live" the other facets of my life.

ED

Ed

I was working up until the amputation, which was in mid April of this year. I am due to go back on the 1st of September. I am really worried as I have a new cast and am not as mobile as I was three weeks ago.

I will let you know how I get on. Initially I think I will be a bit tired, but long term I dunno if I will cope. Hey other people manage it so I must just grit my teeth and bear it, something to do with not enough money to feed my kids if I dont.

A bit scared at the moment

Rachel

Hi Ed,

I work full time in a factory, I make truck seats for General Motors. There are good days and bad, standing around on cement floors gets to you after awhile, i find if I am on a job where I can move around it is better, but there are days when I get stuck in one place. 16 hour shifts can take a toll on you as well.

I have been an amp for alomost 9 years, I started working about 6 to 8 months after my op. I started out slowly, with sit down office jobs. Then moved my way to harder more physical jobs.

The place where I work has just started doing 12 hour day shifts with callouts. Before this I was working a 3 shift system.

Hello Ed

Although am not doing paid work at the moment, did work full time for many years and know others who do so, so it is possible, (if you have comfy limbs !)however do appreciate things are a bit more tricky if you are bilateral a/k.