How do you shower

What do you use when you shower  

22 members have voted

1. 1. What do you use when you shower

• Bath board
    • Sit on chair
    • Water leg
    • Other

I got to wondering about people showering with artificial legs (In a completely innocent way)...I have use dmy water leg to shower but find it inadequate due to the fact you can't clean the stump PLUS I don't feel safe when standing up in the bath to have a shower (even with rubber mat): So I tend to opt for a bath board which I sit on and shower... :blink:

At the risk of sounding self promoting, here is what I have been using for over eight years. It works for me. (Yes, this is my web site, and leg in the picture.)

Shower Protector

After my shower, I sit down, take my leg off and wash my stump with a wet cloth powder it, put a clean sock on and I'm on my way.

Went from chair to putting a garbage bag over my leg-did that for a week, to just into the shower on one foot and holding on to the help bar with one hand. Getting more confident over the last six months.

Get done I set on the edge of the tub and get my real foot washed and checked for damage-diabetic, and then wash my liner.

Even got brave and leaned up againt the wall to dry off this week.

--Bill, RBK

I use the swim leg, and have had a seat fitted in the shower so that I sit and take the leg off, to clean the stump etc.

It folds up against the wall and I just pull it down, it has legs to support.

Cost me about £70.00 to buy, and worth every penny. From the Screw Fix catalogue.

Sue

I use a bath bench. I have not received my first leg yet. And I might not be living here by that time. Otherwise I plan to install a rail and shower without the arty leg.