Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Ally

Does anyone want to stop smoking?

Hello group

Did anyone make a NY resolution to stop smoking and it's working out?

Or does anyone want to stop smoking kind of like now.

Sigh - I am so tired of running into Pegleg Jack on various forums. He doesn't preach non-smoking, but he lost both of his legs due to sickerettes, and it always makes me think.

See now, yesterday I ran out of smokes. It was raining, and I was too lazy to go and buy more. So I just decided - hell, now is as good a time as any. Not the most clever way to stop I think, with no plan, and no idea how to get through the first week or so. Be that as it may - I am on day 2 today.

I've been smoking for about 25 years. :rolleyes: and I am thoroughly sick and tired of this addiction, and the way in controls me.

Anyone else in the forum feel like this?

Ally

Oh yes - I'm a bit scared that I am going to let myself down, so that's probably half the reason I posted here....sigh....public declarations & responsibility

Good for you, Ally! :)

I was a 'social smoker' for a few years & was one of the lucky ones as I didn't find it difficult to give up. :rolleyes: Although, I think it may have had something to do with me noticing that my BK turned purple when I smoked! :o

As you know, my cure to all ills is a LINK...so, I've found one that may help. :)

Go on! You can do it...you know you can!!! :D

Lizzie :)

Ally there is a wonderful book called Easyway to Stop smoking by Allen Carr. This bloke used to smoke about 100 per day and like you just stopped like that.

His book has a 98% success rate-pity I havent' read it yet. But the people I know who have all have given up. It sells here for about $12.95 almost the price of one packet :o

ps: he says if you use patches you'll just start again. ;)

Good luck-huge effort I wish i had never started again

Hi Ally and Mel,