Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
trwinship

Stupid Leg Tricks

I've been a b/k amputee since 1997, very luckily with few complications and pretty good experiences with my prosthetic leg. Like many of the rest of you I've had lots of funny experiences, not all of which have been accidental. Although it may reflect a less-than-optimal fit, I've found that for very short periods of time I can reverse my leg, allowing my feet to face different directions. This has been handy in group photographs with meetings of overly-stuffy scientist types, but was most entertaining one snowy winter morning when I was the first to enter my building at work. The fresh, unshoveled snow was too tempting, and I carefully (no practical joke is worth a fall) planted footprints to the door--right foot forward, left foot facing in reverse. The long puzzled stares of others as they came in was worth the trouble!

Now, I'm desperately seeking someone who will make me a nice dinosaur foot, a la the character in the Harry Potter books (Mad Eye Moody is who I was trying to think of!). Think what great snow tracks that would make!

Too funny! You don't happen to have any knowledge of crop circles now do you? Your poor co-workers, you probably gave them a few extra wrinkles perplexing over those tracks.

Next thing you know it'll be connected with alians then copycats will follow up and people will be holding scaunses in your tracks...be careful

When I was a kid I'd turn my foot backwards and walk in little circles crying "I can't get to class"! I got sent to the priciples office so many times for stuff like that!