Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
elnoviodelamuerte

Long-term side-effects of using crutches

Hi guys,

I have been using a prosthesis plus crutches for 16 years now.

For 10 years at least I have been experiencing a 'furry' sensation or numbness

in the fingertips of my left hand.

The intensity varies, but I have great difficulty finding the buttonholes and

buttoning up my shirt, the right sleeve usually being hopeless.

Do you have similar problems?

Take care!

God Bless!

Mike RHD

I only use crutches when I can't wear my leg and i try to avoid that as much as possible. When ever I have to use them for what i think is a long period of time( 1 week to 1 or 2 months) I find my upper arms really hurt. There are some days i can't lift my arms over my head they ache so much.

I also find my hands feel sprained or get numb, I can't stand crutches.

P.S. The power of my left hand grip seems to be diminished, too.

BUT both arms and shoulders are definitely well exercised and strong.

As an amputee soccer player, I can confirm over usage of crutches does course over wear of the shoulders, I think like many things if you push it to hard it's going to break!

PJ :D

I use forearm crutches everyday. I've managed to reduce the wear & tear on my arms and shoulders by only using soft anatomic style hand grips.

Lizzie :)

I was going to write on this very subject today. I was wondering what type of crutches everyone prefers? I’ve been using underarm crutches for the last eleven months. I’ve made a few modifications to help relieve wrist pain by drilling an extra hole in-between the holes provided and angling the hand grip down so that my wrist is at a more ergonomic angle. It has helped relieve stress and pain. I also added a bicycle water bottle cage and mini bungie cords to hold pop and other items. I thought about a bell but my wife thought it was a stupid idea. She's right. Rear view mirrors?