Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
MNaverickR6

Can i still drive

I hope some one can help me.....

Im new to all this and am facing the fact that my right leg has to go below the knee. How will this affect my driving??

Can i drive with my replacement limb??? or do i have to use my left foot??? can you get a hand throttle??? loads questions but can anyone help??

Thank you :D

Essex, UK

I too am a right leg amputee and tried to find out about driving. I was told that it is out of the question, the only way is have hand controls fitted as obviously there is no feeling in the 'new leg'!

I don't know what your financial situation is, but I gather hand control adaptations are rather expensive.

Sorry this is probably not much help, this is just my experience, others might have different answers.

Good luck, let us know how you get on. I am just over the river in Kent so maybe I shall give you a wave one of these days!

Best wishes - Rosemarie

I have been a RBK for 36 years when I first learned how to drive I didn't think I would be able to use my right leg. I opted to drive left footed and the Motor Vehicle office put a restriction of Automatic Transmission only on my license when I first got it at the age of 18. I drove for a few years with my left foot then got brave and tried with my right foot and have been driving that way since. I also learned how to drive a standard shift car and went back to the Motor Vehicle office retook my test and they removed my restriction. There are accelerator adaptions that you adapt on the left side of the pedal so you can drive that way. If you already have a license I wouldn't say anything and keep driving unless there is a problem with that in your country.

Best of luck and let us know what you end up doing.

Brenda