Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
sForza

Summer in France

I'm going to be in France (Paris, Provance, Cote D' Azur, Monaco) for about a month this coming September and October. It's a long overdue vacation and I'll be doing some art shows (I'm an artist). I'm about to buy my tickets and just wanted to know if there's any pointers/advice anyone wouldn't mind sharing for international travel? For instance, should I bring an extra leg?, should the leg be removed during flight or no because will it swell?, any special travel considerations I may have overlooked as a rookie amputee?

Thanks

I use a Xerosox protector so I don't have to take crutches. I use it for showering so I don't have to be dependent on shower chair and crutches. Being gone a month, I would take the crutches. You might still check out the Xerosox to use in the shower.

Wear your leg on the plane. You shouldn't have any problems with security. I sometimes take mine off while inflight if I can't find a comfortable position. The gel liner should keep swelling to a minimum. You'll still be shrinking at that time. Lots of sock changes anyway.

Be sure to take an adequate assortment of socks. If my memory serves me correctly, you aren't wearing a leg yet. You'll understand this once you start.

Can't think of anything else right now. Will let you know if I do.

Sounds like a great trip. You're still in the learning stage. Try what you want, but don't overdue it. Stumpy will not be happy with you. :angry: