Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
ali.hall

Prosthetics, but not as we know it

Well I have been wanting to post this for such a long time because I think you will all like this a lot but couldn't, due to it not being confirmed.

As I hope some of you know, I am a third year student studying prosthetics and orthotics at Strathclyde University, Glasgow. Every year the third year plan a trip to somewhere in the world that they don't know too much about to see how prosthetics and orthotics is taught and performed in another country. Previous years have gone to El Salvador and and Cambodia, including some more advanced countries.

Anyway to cut a long story short, I got the email back the other day that our year has got the go ahead to go to Vietnam to the school in Hanoi in June/July 2007. I have been buzzing since I got the confirmation. It will be such a worth while viist for everyone invloved and will just be amazing to see a completely different culture. Hopefully I will get to go travelling a bit when I am out there.

Anyway for anyone who is interested - here is the VIETCOT web site:

http://203.162.7.85/vietcot/index.html

and here is our trip web site:

http://www.pandosite.co.uk/

Sorry the trip site is a bit bare but it will get more and more stuff on it as we gather information and continue our fund raising for the trip.

I appologise for my hyper-activity but it is something I was really hoping would come together and it seems to be working out well, fingers crossed.

I personally have no interest in going to Vietnam, but I find the excitement in your words infectious. I wish you well, and as you asked, "keep my fingers crossed". Good luck.

I'm very happy for you Ali. I've never wanted to go to Vietnam, but "The Amazing Race" was there this past season and the scenery looked beautiful especially along the coast. There seemed to be a lot to do.

How long will you be there?