Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Hopalong

I Kneed Your Advice to Get A Foot Up!

I am a newbie here, so forgive me if I am asking questions that have been posted before. :blink: I should be receiving a prosthesis sometime in the next couple of months. I am a LAK Hip Disartic. I will be getting one of those new fangled sockets (the suction type mentioned in another post), with a C-Leg. I'm wondering if the C-Leg has it's own integrated knee, or if it is a separate part. If so, I would love to hear what others are using. If you have a C-Leg, what kind of knee do you use...and what kind of foot do you use? I would also like to hear your impressions about these components. Thanks for your help...

Lorri

Hi Lorri welcome to the forum.

I wear a suction liner and use a c-leg. The c-leg is the knee unit, you don't get a separate knee. it's a micro compressor knee with adjustable settings.

I have a Trias foot which is also made by Otto Bock.

Not quite sure what you are asking Lorri but happy to help out

Mel.

Not quite sure what you are asking Lorri but happy to help out

Mel.

I guess what I am asking is that I've heard different knees and feet can make all the difference in the world with ones prostheis. With the infomation you have told me, I now know that I don't need to worry about the knee...But now I'm wondering what "foot" others use with their C-Leg. I have been told that some are stiffer than others...some respond better than others...etc. I would like to hear what other C-Leg users have to say about their foot....I am a fairly active person who hopes to "hike" and ride a bicycle again. I don't know if that matters when choosing a foot?

Thanks again,

Lorri

Hi Lorri,