Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
ebtalley

Prosthetic "Discomfort"

I think I got asked the pain scale every 30 minutes when in the hospital. :glare:

Im curious what level of discomfort people live with when walking on their prosthetic. Personally it varies over the day. The first couple steps always seem to be pretty painful in the morning and then it settles in and I can hobble around without thinking about it, although there is always a little discomfort (maybe a 1 or 2). I'm curious if that bit of discomfort ever goes away for some or if its just a fact life when bearing weight on something thats not meant to bear it.

Granted, I'm still pretty new at this but I thought it would make for enlightening conversation.

~eric

The poll didn't come up :(

The pain scale I was referring to referred to the poll I tried to post 1~10. (standard hospital question it seems)

Eric,