Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Jules

Skking or Snowboarding for a TOTAL beginner??

Hi there,

I wondered if anyone could give me some advice as to wheather snow boarding would be a better introduction to the world of snow than skiing???!!!

Skiing/snowboarding is something I've wanted to do for a while and I'm going to venture to an indoor snow dome next week.

I am RBK (congenital) and have a pretty weak and small knee (if that makes sense!!) and wanted some advie from those of you that have tried...

Look forward to hearing from someone, jules

I should have mentioned, I don't have use of my right hand (congenital), so wouldn't be able to use any sort of ski stick (sorry, don't know the correct terminology!!)

Jules,

From what you have said here I would set your sites on snowboarding. Both skiing and snowboarding require knee strength but with snowboarding both feet/legs are bound to the same structure which should allow your stronger knee to take up alot of the work, where as in skiing each leg is on it's own. :)

This reallly won't help you at the snow dome, but InMotion Magazine had an article in last months issue on Ski Biking for Amputees. If your knee poses a problem and you eventually wish to try skiing outdoors in the future, ski biking might just be the answer for you. They listed the following resources:

American Ski Bike Association

www.ski-bike.org

National Sports Center for the Disabled

www.nscd.org

Vail Adaptive Ski School

vail.snow.com/winter/ss.adaptive.asp

British Limbless Ex-Service Men's Association

www.blesma.org

Have fun at the snow dome...Let us know how it goes.

Lorri