Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
dreamygirl

How long do you wear your leg/s

I was wondering, how long you all leave your leg on. Do you wear it on your day off work? Just curious and was thinking about it. :) thanks for sharing your answers

I wear my leg all day, every day... the only time I take it off is for showering, swimming, or when I go to bed at night. It took me a while to be able to feel comfortable wearing it 16+ hours per day, but now it's just a regular part of getting dressed.

Goes on first thing in the morning, comes off at bedtime. After a while, you don't even think twice about it.

I agree. I am a fairly new (1 yr 5 months) bilateral below knee and I put mine on when I get up to go to work and wear it all day until I take a bath or go to bed. Once in a while, I may take them off to give them a rest :) but it's funny how it now feels funny not to have them on. Since I am fairly new at all this, I am still working on getting correct socket fits...trying to decide to stay with the lock and pin system or try a vacuum system, etc. Hope you are doing fine...flip

It's been 51 years of on in the morning and off at night, like the rest here...except of course for swimming, showering and bed. That's why this year when I was on crutches for 2.5 months, I felt like I'd just had my amputation...the psychological aspect of it...just being without my legs. It was depressing! But all's well now, thank God and my CPO Ben! :smile:

On when I rise, off when I bathe or go to bed, like everyone else..

It does take a bit of time to get used to wearing it like that..Doing it right off, when you are just learning how to use it can be tough.. I was told, when I got my first one, to wear it for an hour, off for an hour, then put it back on for another hour, and off again, over the course of the day for the first week. Until having it on, wasn't a problem, or I didn't think about it.