Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Proud Daughter

Osseointegration questions and issues

Hello, :biggrin:

My name is Samantha and my father is an above the knee amputee on the left side. He was recently approached by the FDA to be the first canidate for osseointegration in the US. Because it is so new here we have no one to talk to. I am an emergency and trauma nurse in Delaware and I, of course like any good daughter and nurse, have questions. I also know my dad has questions and concerns. He has no computer so we joined this site together to speak with other people about the procedure and to let them follow his status. He is going to do this for himself but he also is very happy to be benefit to others.

Has anyone heard about it or has had it done? Who was the Doctor, if I am allowed to ask? And how was the procedure preformed?

Hi, Samantha

You've come to the right place! A member of this forum who lives in the UK, screen name "Insane", has been sharing his experience with osseointegration for the past two years in a thread titled "Osseointegration Part 1". I'm sure you'll find it easily if you do a search, or one of the more tech savvy (not me :unsure: ) members could post a link to it for you. It should be very helpful. You won't find many people in the U.S. who have done it since it has just now been approved by the FDA. I take it your father has exhausted all other socket options?

Karen

Orlando, Florida

Hello, :biggrin: