Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
CaptainKB

Phantom Pain

Newbie here,

How have those of you that have experienced phantom pain dealt with it? I have been an AK amp since 1/26/09 and will be receiving my leg in the next couple of weeks. My attitude and support group has been great but my phantom pain is brutal sometimes. I have very sharp pins and needles type pain on my phantom foot, or sometimes a scalding type of feeling. Sometimes the shocks are so sharp that my leg will jerk suddenly.

What I have tried/trying:

- Still on Gabapentin up to 2700mg – Just takes the edge off and allows sleep

- TENS feels great when I use it

- Hot tub jets – same as above

- Massage helps but is very temporary

- I am in my second week of using Mirror Therapy and of all the temporary treatments; this one appears to have longer lasting after effects.

Has anyone gone through the entire 4 week Mirror Therapy regiment with success?

Thanks!

I am glad I found this site after much searching.

Hi Captain KB

I think if you only had your amputation in January it is still quite early days for you yet. I found my pains kicked in about a month or so after my revision op, mainly when I first started doing more. I was in hospital at the time, and advised to take the painkillers, although I wasn't on Gabapentin, was taking paracetomol but told to take them regularly through the day, not just at night as I had been previously doing, so as I could sleep. I was also given a relax night sock, I find also keeping my stump warm helps a lot.