Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
unique

Still would like to speak to Amputee with knee replacement

Hi,

help, I am planning a robotic PARTIAL knee replacment at HSS in NEw york this Summer and I would love to chat with someone who is an amputee who has gone through the recovery and get some tips

The last time I posted this i got replies from non-amps and I really just want to hear from AMPUTEES, that is my problem, my doc does not know of anyone who has had this done.

i have been an amputee for 27 years and the good knee is and has been giving me pain for 6 years now. I have been wearing one brace of another for about four years and having synovial fluid replacemnt therapy for three years. The shots are great but they only last for two months. So I am getting fed up with having them over and over and running intp problems with doctors getting reimbursed.

So please if you have been through this or a full replcemtn give me a sign!

Thanks

Unique

I thought I contacted you? :unsure:

I'm an amp who's had a TKR on their amp side. However, I'm also in contact with at least one other amp who has had a TKR on their non-amp side. The issues for someone having a TKR on the non-amp side are very similar, but aren't as challenging.

If you'd like some tips then please get in touch via PM. :smile:

hi, i had a tkr on my good leg 9 years ago, i managed great with it at the time & am still going strong!! didn't affect my amp at all.

cheers

maggie

I had a TKR on my good leg 8 years before my AKA on the other side. The TKR did not hinder my recovery in any way, and now my AK side is my best leg.

Hi,

help, I am planning a robotic PARTIAL knee replacment at HSS in NEw york this Summer and I would love to chat with someone who is an amputee who has gone through the recovery and get some tips