Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
SUESMAN

Hi Everyone - New here and dying to ask

Hi All

Literally just been accepted as a member of the forum so can now get on with introducing myself and addressing the main reason for my membership. I appologise for the fact that what I have to ask is pitched more to British members.

I'm not an amputee, but my partner of 8 months (Sue) is a RAK and has been for the past 5 years. In that time she has been supplied/issued 3 prostheses by the NHS. I've only seen the most recent of these and whilst I'm no expert I am bound to say that ABOMINATION is not a strong enough word.

The socket is a full 6 inches larger in circumference than her stump, so it doesn't just 'not fit', she can almost spin in it. Even though - in an effort to reduce the size - she's had the foam covering from the knee up removed, the socket/thigh is so much larger than her remaining leg that it makes her look deformed. Suspension is via a lanyard (of dubious reliability), attached to a silicone sock. The knee is locked unless released via a toggle affair at the thigh. And finally, the foot is one shoe size larger than her remaining one.

If all this weren't enough, according to Sue, THIS is the best of the bunch. The first 2 legs - by Sue's description - not only featured most of the above but were retained by a wide waist band/belt and wouldn't have looked out of place 20 or even 30 years ago. They were both poor fits, but the first was so bad that it caused a blister at the end of her stump, which turned sceptic and ended up requiring remedial surgery to rectify.

Needless to say, prior to my arrival Sue was totally disillusioned, had consigned the current offering to the wardrobe and resigned herself to spending the rest of her life in a wheelchair or at best on crutches - though a couple of nasty falls have dented her confidence on those also.