Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
CanAm

IYO: WHICH PROSTHESIS WEIGHS THE LEAST?

In your oppinion which prosthesis weighs the least?

I am currently using a liner with a pin that locks into a hard shell socket. I believe my prosthetist called the knee I use a Safety Knee? And, I think I am using a Flex Foot. All of this is covered with a foam covering to resemble a leg. I have been wearing this leg for 8+ years now and I would guess it weighes close to ten pounds. Also, due to my other handicaps I am not a very actice person.

Can I go to a lighter leg and still keep the same outward appearance?

Thanks

I don't know much about the weight of different knees, though one thing I can say is that if the fit of the socket is good, you won't feel the weight so much. A poor fitting socket can make a limb feel heavier and with a good fitting socket you won't feel it anywhere near as much.

It may be the fit you need sorting, not the weight.

hello! i had a leg similar to yours, now i dont use a pin leg. but, the truth is, our "fake" legs dont weigh that much, i think 3 lbs, is what i was told BUT if u find out it is more, let me know!

im very very active and a prosthetic leg is always hard, im just glad we can walk

my best, sue

hello! i had a leg similar to yours, now i dont use a pin leg. but, the truth is, our "fake" legs dont weigh that much, i think 3 lbs, is what i was told BUT if u find out it is more, let me know!

im very very active and a prosthetic leg is always hard, im just glad we can walk

my best, sue

Depends if you are BK or AK, that will make quite a difference for obvious reasons.

Also, the function of a knee will make a difference, the more function a knee has, generally the more weight it has, as a general rule.