Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Madleggs

Skin Issues

Hi all I got a quick question about some new skin issue's I am having.

I am a newbie with all this amputee business so if this is a dumb question so be it.

I have a few spots directly over my scar line that after wearing my prosthesis for a few hours become really loose.

When I remove the liner the skin is very white and looks like It was sitting in a bath tub for too long, yes I do sweat alot. I dry my leg off about every three hours through out the day. It does not hurt at all, but looks really bad. It dries out pretty quick, usually in 20-30min after doffing the leg. I have tried lotion and creams with little success.

I just got a new socket but the problem started with my old socket which was really too big for my stump, my prosthetist said she thought it would get better now that I am in a new socket.

I am curious if anyone else had dealt with any thing close to this and what they did?

Should I stay out of the leg for a few days?

I just got a new socket and have a similar problem when playing golf and sweating a lot. The prosthetist said it was a water blister and suggested that I try adding a sock when that happens. That doesn't seem to help much. He did say to not pop the blister, just let it alone.

After a couple of weeks of this, a lot of dead skin is flaking off and it seems to be getting better. I try to make sure my stump isn't sitting in a pool of sweat for too long at a time, drying it off every couple of holes. I never stayed off the leg because of it.

I just got a new socket and have a similar problem when playing golf and sweating a lot. The prosthetist said it was a water blister and suggested that I try adding a sock when that happens. That doesn't seem to help much. He did say to not pop the blister, just let it alone.