Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Tint

Icy Britain

Hi everyone

I was just wondering if anyone has any tricks for avoiding slipping over in our newfound icy country

I fell over 3 times last week! Its never been this bad in previous years!

Hi everyone

I was just wondering if anyone has any tricks for avoiding slipping over in our newfound icy country

Im a newbie to all this, being my first winter, and ice is very hard for me to deal with, fell a few times already. I'll be watching this thread very close.

Hi everyone

Hi Tint

My tip would probably be not going out in it unless absolutely necessary. Everything is at a standstill where I am anyway at the moment, roads are closed etc. etc. I have just ordered some of those grippers to be worn over shoes (they haven't arrived yet !!) but in the past I have tried tying socks around my shoes, gives a bit of grip short term.

Ann

Being from the hot sunny Deep South, I've never even given this a thought. But seeing as it's getting down into the teens tonight AND it's raining, there will be ice tomorrow. I'm planning to stay in but if I have to get out it'll be socks over shoes for me too! Thanks for the info. This cold is supposed to last thru next Tuesday. Brrrr....I'm not used to this.

Hi Marcia! Be careful out there, you aren't used to bad weather like this. We got another 7 inches of snow today on top of the 8 inches we still have on the ground. I have grippers, but honestly, I try to not have to go out if I can help it if it's this bad. This bad weather was predicted, so brought the laptop home with me and have the work blackberry, so I just worked from home today. We have high winds now whipping all that snow around into beautiful but dangerous drifts. We'll see about tomorrow, just may work from home again.

Be careful if you get out there. I would rather drive and/or walk on snow any day of the year than the ice that you may have....Be safe