Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
hannahc410

Newbie - amputation after failed subtalar fusion cant decide

Hi there

Im new to this sight but I'm desperate for some help or advice! I will give you a brief history.

I am a 25yr old female I was serving out in Iraq back in 2007. I was hit in a mortar attack and suffered various injuries the worst of which was a calcaneal fracture involing the subtalar joint. I had surgery using pins and plates they pieced it back together. I had such bad pain due to the damage to the subtalar joint so went for my first subtalar fusion 1 yr later. This fusion failed and i was left in such bad pain i have been on a cocktail of pain killers ever since. I have also since had 2 further fusion attempts which have both failed and the pain is no better. It has got to the point now where amputation is an option. My GP thinks it6 would be the right decision for me and so does my physio, however my surgeon seems to want to keep trying with these fusion attempts until it works!! I am also thinking that an amputation would now be best for me. All I want is a pain free life with some sort of normality!

I am looking for any and all advice that anyone can offer me ! Im so stuck and really dont know what to do ???

Please help

Hello Hannah. Welcome to the forum.

The decision to amputate should not come lightly. It is a permanent situation. It seems that you have been through a lot. Pain is not good. Neither is living on a pain killer cocktail. The one thing that makes me want to tell you to go ahead with amputation is the fact that everytime they open you up the docs set you up for life-threatening infections. Surgeons feel that amputation is failure. Very few ankle fusion patients live painfree. That is no reason to keep trying. 3 years is long enough.