Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Hema2010

Hello! Newbie here..

Hi,

I'm Hema Subhash, from Bangalore, India. I am a new amputee and my fiance introduced me to the Heather mills amputee forum. I am an LAK, and I met with an accident when I was coming back from work one day. It happened when I was getting down from the bus that I was traveling in and the bus driver started the vehicle before I could get out, and thus the bus's rear wheels ran over my left leg..instantly crushing my knee and leaving my bones and muscles exposed. The next day after a failed angioplasty, the amputation was done above knee.

People around me are telling me that I have been taking it well, although I do feel sad and I miss my leg at times, but have realized that it is pointless to suffer mourning the loss of my leg. I'm trying to look forward to getting the prosthesis. I have a large graft area on my stump and that's my main cause of concern...Hope to talk to many others who have gone through similar experiences and share my experiences with newbies.

Hi, Hema, and welcome to the forum. Sorry you "have" to be here, but I'm glad that you found us!

It's really not unusual to "mourn" the loss of a limb...it was a part of you, and you were planning on keeping it around! There is a period of grief that follows any loss...even the loss of a part of yourself. I was an elective amputee...I chose to lose my left leg below-knee because of some longstanding medical problems. I was happy to see it go, as I was hoping this would be a chance for me to get on with my life...but I still mourned its loss.

I actually held an imaginary funeral for my leg...and I think that really helped me to get over the grief and move on. (My leg had a Viking funeral in my head...I pictured it on a Viking ship, flames burning, floating off into the sunset while horns were playing, flags were flying, and songs were sung about its long and courageous service!) After that, I got on with the business of recovering.