Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
ann

switching feet (Bilaterals)

I have switched from wearing very basic, I think, single axis feet which I have been wearing for over 40 yrs ... to, I think College Park Trustep feet, which I am told have moving ankles and more natural movement .... am bilateral b/k.

After about six hours of wearing the legs am experiencing lots of aches and pains in the legs, generally, that I don't usually get. I also have new sockets ... one is ok, but the other not quite comfortable yet .... so bit difficult to work out how much of the problem is due to the new feet and how much with the sockets. Also find am slightly 'wobbly' when walking continuously outside, which I kind of expect initially .... but hoping that improves. I was checked by the physio, who told me I was walking well ... though I don't actually feel that myself and feel like I am walking much more robotically than I did before.

I don't remember actually changing feet before, although think I must of somewhere down the line as remember wearing the old wooden feet from times gone by ... so not sure if what I am experiencing now is normal or not and wonder if anyone else has had similar experiences.

Ann

Hi Ann :smile:

Guest bud usa

I have used Elation Feet from Ossur for the last 5 years. Heel height is adjustable y just pushing a button.

Hi Ann :smile:

Thanks Bud ..... at not too bothered about adjustable heel height at the moment ... my main concern with the new feet are 'tired muscles' and 'balance' ... which I didn't have with the type of basic feet I have been taken off. Am thinking I am probably noticing this because am bilateral ... but am also having probs with socket fit on one side so not sure whether probs are down to the socket or the feet.

hi ann,