Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
aknurse

New LAK

Hello, i am a 32 yr old,wife and mother of a 3yr old. i am a registered nurse on a very busy surgical floor. I became a LAK amp, after a unknown blood clot disorder in May. i walked in ER having leg pain,ultrasound negitive then mri was medicated heavly so went out. found out i was MASSIVE cloted from aorta in heart to bilateral groin. had emergency surgery within hrs.husband was told i could die on table or atleast was gonna be bilateral hip amp. luckly i came out of surgery with right leg intact , not good blood supply in left, took back to OR in a hour to try to get left pulse back, did but lost it again five hrs later, surgeons worked with my leg for two more weeks , debrievments , wound vacs, hyperbairtric treatment with no sucsess, amp.right above knee. i woke up next day to see what had happened. i thought i had been in hospital for about three days and it had been three weeks.I came home in a week, started rehab the next day after amp. three times a week. I of course put on the "I am a strong independent, women and your not gonna see my pain." I couldn't bring myself to research. and now feel i have really goofed up. They say i am doing great,but i feel different at times. i recived my prostesis three weeks ago. the socket fits great except we tweeked with the curve in back digging in by groin,but somthing does not feel right and i don't know if its normal, me or prostetic. i can't seem to put all my weight shift to that side. i thought i felt like i was ,but thearapist says not.I have a long limb with long muscle flap. i have a ottobock 3r60 with journey foot. i feel no pain when trying just not like i am standing at my normal but old stance or position. i am very frustrated, i have fell twice on leg it has no recovery when the knee bends so im down and down fast. last week the knee unit started leaking fluid so we sent it back , recieved new one today.no change. darn. thanks in advance, and sorry so long. i k