Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
lesley

cramping in stumps of below knee amputees

Hi

I am a below knee amputee since 1997.Not sure if I am using this right as this is my first time

I have two problems with my below knee amputation and was wondering can anybody help!!!!!!!!!!!

I am a keen walker and find that if I walk for more than 10 mins I get a huge cramp in my calf and have to take artificial leg off and massage my leg

I also have another problem which some one may be able to help with

I find that sometimes I get a burning sensation and when I take my liner off I have blisters on my stump so if anyone has this problem could they shed some light

thanks

Lesley

Lesley, I really dont have any advice to offer, I am new to all of this. But I know there are many out there who DO have a lot to share and hope they answer you in the next few days. Just wanted you to know "we" are out here and willing to help if we can!

Judy

Hi Lesley

Have you spoken to your prosthetist about this. I am also a below knee amputee and do experience cramp similar to this particularly when the limb isn't fitting quite right, especially if it is too tight in one area. If I were you I would speak to the prosthetist about this, it may be that the cramp and the blisters are connected. Hope you get it sorted out.

Hi!

you wrote to me and asked if i was familiar with this problem. As i'm new here, im not too sure if you received my reply....

I had this problem with my last prozzy (short form of prothesis, ha). The shaft was too tight around my stump hindering the blood circulation. It's extremely important that a.) the stump touches the bottom of the shaft allowing the blood to flow back up the leg again and B) the p. fits properly and isn't too tight allowing blood to circulate in the muscle.

hope this has helped,

Kaz

Lesley,