Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Sign in to follow this  
kaneo

Strength and Agility Training

Hello All,

I had a RBKA August 6 of this year after a traumatic injury and was fitted with a prosthesis early October. I typically wear my prosthetic 8-14 hours per day and stopped using assistance (ie. cane) after the first week of wearing it. Walking, stairs, ramps, etc pose no issue but as I work as a paramedic I seek guidance as to particular training I can do to improve flexibility, strength, and balance. Unfortunately I find rehabilitation centres close to me seem to only focus on getting a person upright which is why I only went to one physio appointment and never went back.

On that note I hope to be back at work full-time in Jan/Feb but hope someone can provide me some links or information to programs that I could follow either by myself or with assistance to get me to a more functional level. My biggest obstacle will be carrying equipment (>50 pounds) up and down stairs and over uneven terrain without anything to hold on to for support.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Kane

Some of our members have very active, physically demanding jobs, so I hope that someone can offer you some useful "tips." (I worked as a secretary until my retirement, so I'm afraid I'm not a lot of use here!)

One thing I would suggest, though, is that you look about for either a BETTER physical therapy program, or possibly look into taking a few sessions with a personal trainer.

I also gave up on physical therapy fairly soon after getting my prosthesis...the clinic I was assigned to was, as you suggest, aimed at just "getting you upright" and leaving it at that. However, prior to getting my prosthesis, I went through several rounds of various and sundry foot surgeries...and then I had the most astonishing bunch of physical/occupational therapists who drove me just as hard and as far as I could go! Those folks made a genuine difference in the quality of my life!