Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
dalec919

Mechanical knee for outdoor activities

Hello community- I'm looking for recommendations from experianced AKs regarding mechanical knees. I have been using computer assisted knees since I lost my leg 3 yrs back. The problem with electronic knees is water, mud, etc will damage or stop them from working. I am looking for a good durable knee as a second leg for the weekends that is hydraulic or mechanical, that is decent to walk around in, but can get wet or even muddy. My activities are things like cutting firewood, riding ATVs on muddy roads, canoeing, woodworking, and the like. My prosthetist suggested one of the endolite knees, but my experiance with endolite products hasn't been very good so far. Any suggestions? - Dale

What computer knee do you have?

I work on music festivals throughout the summer and my C-Leg regularly gets a little muddy (think being pushed over in really deep mud by drunken idiot members of the audience). I wash it down carefully after use and have had no problems at all (always make sure that I'm using the dust caps).

Depending on the activities perhaps an XT9 would be a good idea. It allows you to stand in a crouched position for sports such as MotoX, snowboarding etc. It's waterproof and mud resistant. The downside is it isn't really any good for walking due to the way that the spring that provides the support for crouching works.

Long term I'd seriously look at the new Genium, I'm trailing one at the moment and some of the features sound like they'd be perfect for you.