Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Cakepigeon

Probably a very silly question but......

I am due to have my left leg amputated bk and I have a manual car.

This may seem like a really silly question but will I be able to still use the clutch pedal with a prosthetic leg or will I have to get an automatic?

Just wondering as obviously you can't feel the pedal any more and I am unsure how the prosthetic actually moves.

Apologies again if this appears a daft question but as I am very new to all this I am trying to think ahead.

Am not too sure of things regards manual cars in the UK Cakepigeon, I use an automatic with hand controls (as am bilateral) but it might be worth taking a look at this website which might have more information

http://www.rica.org.uk/sites/default/files/documents/pdfs/mobility/motoring-after-amputation.pdf

If you are in doubt of what you might need etc etc., there are various assessment centres scattered around the country where you can go, try out different set-ups, be assessed etc. etc. http://www.rdac.co.uk to might be some info here too.

Also more info at http://limblossinformationcentre.com/organisations/driving-af

You will probably be able to 'feel' the pedals etc., through up through your prosthesis, if that makes sense, but obviously not in the normal way you would feel through a natural foot. In other parts of the world people are allowed to drive with their prostheses and do often manage this, but unless the rules have changed since I learned to drive in the UK, you will probably not be allowed to use your prosthesis with the pedals. You are probably also going to have to let the DVLA and your insurance know also about the amp, as its often written into your licence.

I know a bi-lateral amputee that drives a truck with prosthetic legs so it can be done. Best wishes going forward !

Hi,