Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
Fingertoes

My new life without arms

Hello, I´m Thomas and I just joined the forum.

I´m 42 years old and live in Denmark, that´s why my english isn´t perfect, but I hope you will understand anyway :smile:

Until 6 years ago I lived a very nomal life. I spend almost all my time working as a carpenter and my limited sparetime I spend with friends playing soccer and working on old cars.From time to time I would meet a girl and we would spend some time together, but nothing long lasting.

6 years ago while working as a carpenter I should cut a hole in a wall. While doing this the saw hit a high voltage cable in the wall and the current ran through the saw and into my hands and then left my arms again almost at the shoulder where I was touching a ladder.I don´t remember the accident, and I woke up at hospital 2 days later.

When I woke up I found at that my arms had been so badly burned inside, that the doctors had had to amputate both my arms at the shoulder joints. I have no stumps at all, and the doctors did a great job at stiching up my shoulders - I have only some fine scars to remind me where my arms once have been.