Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
ampskier

Das Boots

I work as a welder so I wear steel toed work boots. Made from leather and very stiff they are extreamly hard to get on and off my prostetic leg. I had a zipper put in the boot so I can get into it from the back. This makes it a lot easyer, but it makes the boot weaker. Any other tips?

Umm, aside from zips I still don't know about this one Eric. I worked on building sites for a number of years but could never wear the rigger boots that are the current trend on there (not that I was desperate to join the fashion statement thing or anything, honest B) ). Anyhows I ended up with these lace-up safety boots called Goliaths but I doubt they'd be so good for welding as they are only about ankle high. If it's any consolation I need chainsaw boots, but do you think I can find any I could get into?????? <_< Maybe we should design a range of decent safety boots for various applications just for people with these sorts of difficulties ~nods~.

Eric, there is a company called IRON AGE that makes everything from full metatarsal boots to steel toed sneaker they make pull ons and ones with velcro fasteners if i can find an addres or 800 number i'll get back to you. Oh before i go i want to say watch out breathing those welding fumes and don't work too hard.

MIKE

Crazzy1 What I did was took my boot to a shoe repair place. I told them what I needed and for $20 they put a nifty zipper in the boot that works great.