Heather Mills - Amputee Forum
NeoAmputee

Hello~ I need help~

Hello~

First, I am new to this amputation area ( I just got amputated, RBK, on June 2nd 2004). I am still in discomfort but can manage those pains :) . However, I have been searching for the prosthetic leg that allow me to be as much active as before the amputation. The product that I ended up with was Ceterus from Ossur. However, I just could not find any review on it. Can anyone tell me how much satisfying it is? Just tell me your opinion on Ceterus.

PS: One more thing... how much is Ceterus? I know I should ask my prosthetists but I just wanna know before I get there. I am self-paying. :unsure:

Thank you so much in advance of your kind reply.

hi all

i am not brand new amputee but, since surgeon did poor job with amputation 1 yrs ago, leg was never right and revision was done less than a yr ago

i am still trying to get leg right and am frustrated, i have pin now, but had suction, leg seems to always be a bit loose, if i lift leg off floor and shake it , it moves around so much, i feel i am stepping out of it, my prothetist has remade socket so many times.

of u "experienced" amputees, did this feeling occur for first year? does it ever seem to fit tightly? if i add socks, it just feels i am too tall and the pin is even harder to get in, i pound foot on floor to get in and i now have cuts that hurt so much

help and thanks so much

sue

Hi all,

I'm a RBK since November 2003 and doing really well. I have a pin system with an Iceross Comfort Liner - had no problems at all - if you have to 'bounce' the pin into the socket - get your prosthetist to make a leather 'washer' place it into the pin up to the point where your last ratchet goes in - it will enable you to get that last click into the socket - I had this and it works.

I've got a Flex Foot - Elation and its been really good for me. It has enough spring for me to do all that I want to do - gym, walking, hills, slopes etc.